Little Georgie Took (Another) Axe

October 20, 2010 at 8:26 pm Leave a comment

So here we are. Georgie has had the moment he’s been dreaming of since he was a junior fag at whichever posh school it was (not Eton, I know) and the bonfire of the welfare state is officially alight.

Let’s start with 2 givens; OF COURSE we are facing dire financial circs, and OF COURSE the Tories are driven partly by their ‘small government’ ideology. Our Green economics team is examining the details of today’s announcements, and I shan’t pre-empt them (they know more economics than I do). However, I watched most of the Chancellor’s turn ‘live’ and some random thoughts galloped friskily through my brain:

 Firstly, let me be the zillionth person to point out that I and my fellow public sector schmucks did not cause the financial crisis although we seem to be paying for it.

Secondly, my retirement date has gone up today, and something tells me that I’ll be lucky to get much of a pension even at 66. But once Georgie, Dave and co are superannuated they’ll be off to their yachts faster than you can say Oleg Deripaska.

Adding insult to injury, quite literally, is the host of uneasy Lib Dems lurking behind Georgie’s smirk. I wonder how many of the 6,836,824 people who voted Lib Dem in May were voting to cut half a million public sector jobs?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

A Miserable Little Compromise Quote of the Spending Review

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

