It’s all about the bike

October 10, 2010 at 11:16 am Leave a comment

In last week’s Guardian Weekend, they printed a letter of mine about their back-of-mag column which glorifies various motor vehicles. Actually they printed part of my letter, so I reproduce the entire thing here:

            You interview Jonathan Franzen and he talks about the dangers of overpopulation. You publish a photo-journal about the rapid industrialisation of China and the consequent threat to the environment. And then, on page 99, you review a vehicle “larger than the average bedsit”. Three words: no, no and no.

Not all that long was it?  Far from being a whinge about their editing practices, this post is to celebrate the fact that this week’s “On the road” column is all about…a bike! And I do mean a proper bike!

 I don’t think for a moment that my moaning letter has affected the Guardian’s editorial policy (I’m sure it hasn’t). But still – HA!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Quote of the week Quote of the week

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

