Time for Tea

October 4, 2010 at 10:46 am 1 comment

Those who know me know that I am enthusiastic about the drinking of tea. Tea is what helps to get me out of bed. Tea is what gets me through the working day. Tea is what oils the wheels of my creativity, on the occasions when I have access to same.

 But now a bunch of extreme right wingers in the US has co-opted my beloved beverage to their cause. Characteristically, even the title is based on a misunderstanding of history: the point of the Boston Tea Party, as I understand it, was ‘no taxation without representation’. The US may not be a model of representative democracy, but unlike those early freedom fighters, current US citizens CAN ACTUALLY VOTE FOR THEIR POLITICAL REPRESENTATIVES. Not that small a difference, really.

Here’s the latest poster girl, Ms primary colours, Christine O’Donnell, in action:

 O’DONNELL: You know what, evolution is a myth…… why aren’t monkeys still evolving into humans?

 The jury’s out on whether the current tea party surge is a good thing. Conventional wisdom has it that the various Palin types are unelectable, and it’ll all rebound in favour of the less right-wing Democrats. However, current wisdom had it that the Titanic was unsinkable and that David Miliband was certain to be the next Labour leader……

Be afraid. Be very afraid.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Quote of the week My cat Florence has her say

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Roisin Sweeny  |  October 31, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Test comment

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

