What Patsy did next

September 19, 2010 at 11:53 am 1 comment

Regular readers know that I’m an NHS Speech and Language Therapist, trying to fit a quart of needy children into the pint pot of under-resourced clinics. My current place of work, which for obvious reasons will be nameless, is a clinic which had no service at all for 7 months till I got there. When I leave at the end of the month the hopelessly inadequate staffing levels will be cut by 50%. Let no-one tell you that the NHS is ‘protected’ ….utter hogwash! Cuts are happening right here right now, and that’s before Mr Lansley unleashes his privatisation programme – sorry, “reforms”.

 However, it’s not all gloom and doom. The lovely Patricia Hewitt, who as Sec of State for Health was responsible for making NHS Trusts ‘balance the books’ (when we stupidly thought our job was to provide healthcare), is comfortably ensconced in her nice plush jobs in the private healthcare sector. I know the other lot are in now and we should all forget about Patsy. I shall do so very soon, but I need a little longer to get her out of my system. Labour. She was a Labour minister. And she’s a director of Bupa.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

No Guardians in the Bull Ring Time for the backlash

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. tilly brennan  |  September 22, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Patrcia Hewitt was my MP in Leicester – and as someone once said, she put the Pat in patronising!
    So glad (NOT) to hear she has got herself a nice little earner with BUPA – word hypocrite springs to mind for some strange reason?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

