Missing in Action

April 29, 2010 at 9:50 pm Leave a comment

For once, I was included in an invitation to argue the toss with my fellow candidates. Many thanks to Calder High School for getting me together with my Lib Dem and Tory colleagues for a discussion and Q&A. It was well attended by the Sixth Formers despite their looming exams. Sadly the post-match vote went to the Lib Dems (the Clegg effect) but the Greens came second and I’d happily settle for that on May 6th.  In case you’re wondering (and at this stage you probably aren’t) our Labour opponent was once again unavailable…..

 That particular gap isn’t my subject, though. I had ten minutes to talk to the 6th formers about Green policies, and my main theme was the subjects which somehow haven’t figured in this election campaign.

 ‘Missing’ topics include:

  • The 4 million annual deaths from malnutrition
  • The half a million women who die every year in childbirth or soon after
  • The continuing death toll in Iraq
  • The stealthy privatisation of the NHS
  • The UK’s horrendous inequality gap
  • The ridiculous attitude of the ‘main parties’ to drugs

 Our Westminster village is fair and balanced though, so there’s been plenty of attention for the following :

  • Samantha Cameron’s frocks
  • Sarah Brown’s toes
  • What colour ties they wore to the debate
  • Whose jokes went down best
  • Gordon Brown’s method of smiling

And I think to myself, what a wonderful world……

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Wolfing it down Trial by TV

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

