Deconstructing Abba

April 7, 2010 at 1:00 pm Leave a comment

I realise that by ‘doing’ Star Trek and Abba within a few days I risk outing myself as an übergeek. However… last week I got the 20.21 train home to Hebden Bridge from Manchester Victoria. I arrived 10 minutes before the train was due, and it was already so full that there was little standing room left. Regular users of the Caldervale line will know that this is not unusual. I stowed my bag, found a teeny patch of standing room and put the ‘phones on.

 At this point in the narrative my MP3 player found, at random, The Day Before You Came by our favourite Swedish purveyors of 70s pop. For anyone not lucky enough to know this classic (and no, I am not being ironic) it takes you through the narrator’s routine day, with emphasis on the routine part. But Swedish routines are different in some crucial ways, and Agnetha gets to sing: “My train I’m certain left the station just when it was due/I must have read the morning paper going into town” and “The train back home again/Undoubtedly I must have read the evening paper then”

 Until last week I’d never realised how – well, how sweetly Swedish that is. They take it for granted that public transport is punctual and that you can read the paper! Not on the bloody 20.21 from Manchester you can’t….just as well Bjorn didn’t grow up around these parts!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Forget the welfare state, give us nukes and more nukes! When I grow up I want to be an engine driver

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

