My Cultural Week

March 16, 2010 at 1:29 pm Leave a comment

Finished reading Deaf Sentence by David Lodge, in time for book group on Monday. We liked this book, but with caveats. It’s obviously autobiographical in parts, which doesn’t matter but for the insertion of stuff which advances neither character nor plot. It’s funny in places though, and my fellow SLTs and I (half the book group) enjoyed the linguistics in-jokes.

I’m missing lots of my usual culture upload because of this campaign thingy, but I did joining the other saddoes sitting up till 5 a.m. to watch the Oscars. Geeky as hell, but I was doing e-mails at the same time, and I got payback at around 5 to 5 when the first ever woman (first ever!!) won the best director Oscar and made a balls of the speech. A perfect result!

Listening to Dear Science by TV on the Radio. This is another one I owe to my sister – I’d never have found it on my own. It’s a blend of styles, which is fine when it works, as it does here. Kind of funk meets electronica with a dash of indie…yes, I’ve made it sound awful! Don’t listen to me, listen to it!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Posthumous Green Award Nice work if you can get it

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

