More from the 36 million

February 21, 2010 at 7:09 pm 1 comment

The row over our exclusion from the NUT debate is rumbling on nicely.

The Todmorden News and Hebden Bridge Times both put the story on the front page,  I’m pleased to say. I’ll post the stories up here when they’re online. I’m also sending a follow-up letter on the off chance that one or two people take exception to how it’s presented in the press (!)

A few people have also taken issue with my use of numbers.  Here’s my response:

  1. Of course many of the 36,654,902 who didn’t vote for the ‘main parties’ didn’t vote at all – that’s precisely my point! I was stating the unassailable truth that the three ‘main’ parties do not have the support of most UK voters, and for the NUT or anyone else to claim otherwise is plain wrong!
  2. I’ve checked my figures and they are correct – see: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/shared/bsp/hi/elections/euro/09/html/ukregion_999999.stm
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Lies, Damn Lies and….Tories No Guardians in Finchley

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sheila Macintyre  |  February 24, 2010 at 11:03 am

    Hebden Bridge Web, 03.02.10: “Kate Sweeny said the best model for the economy at the moment was Roosevelt’s 1930s New Deal and that is why her party was proposing a Green New Deal which would re-stimulate health and transport.”

    The Observer, 04.01.10: “PM sets out modern version of 1930s New Deal”

    “His promise to use public money not only to create short-term jobs, but also to build a low-carbon economy for the future, will be seen as a modern reworking of Roosevelt’s New Deal”

    Kate, I notice neither you or your party credited Gordon Brown on helping shape your policies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

