Here comes the backlash

February 14, 2010 at 3:28 pm 1 comment

Perhaps ‘backlash’ is a bit strong, but…I’ve had great feedback from last week’s debate, but am being excluded from the next one! The NUT have arranged an Education debate in Todmorden, and I sent them a nice e-mail about why I should be included. I got short shrift, although they generously say I can sit in the audience to listen to the other candidates! My Lib Dem and Tory rivals have asked for me to have a seat, but in vain.

Cue lots of discussion on our Green e-mail list about democracy and what it really means. For me, it means a chance to put the our case on an equal footing with the other candidates. Multi-party elections involve – well, a lot of parties! It might be crowded on the platform, but that’s a price worth paying if shades of opinion are to be reflected. I shall return to this subject…..

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My Cultural Week More Fun with Less Stuff

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Billy J  |  February 15, 2010 at 1:24 am

    Kate, it must be worth noting that you were making no such fuss about democracy or ‘shades of opinion’ when your benefactor Jason Elliott did not invite ALL the Calder Valley candidates to the debate he organised. Neither UKIP, BNP, or independent Chris O’Connor were invited. It’s entirely up to the NUT who they invite to THEIR event, just as it was up to Jason Elliott who he chose to invite.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

