The Parable of the Talents

January 24, 2010 at 9:04 pm Leave a comment

OK, now I’m angry! My Green colleague Stuart Jeffery put me onto the article (R) from the GP’s magazine Pulse. Those with high blood pressure had better read it with care! First up, I was shocked to find the Lib Dems embracing the joys of ‘marketising’ the NHS. One expects it of the Tories, and sadly of Labour these days, but the Lib Dems – say it ain’t so, Nick.

There’s so much to worry about in this article that I hardly know what to say. Yes I do: “It’s never the traditional providers coming up with the innovative ideas” says Norman Lamb of the Lib Dems. Evidence please, Mr Liberal Democrat?

And then, further down, the delectable Mr Parsa (whose firm of course stands to benefit from all this lovely outsourcing) says: “Let the talent come through” This man is casually claiming that privately employed staff are more ‘talented’ than NHS ones! I’m prepared to bet that there’s no evidence for that, and I reject the use of the word ‘talent’ in this context. The fat cat bankers use the same word when they are explaining to the rest of us poor stupid plebs just why we have to keep shoving shedloads of money (our money!) down their greedy throats. They patiently explain that otherwise the ‘talent’ will take itself off to Monaco or Shanghai. And that would be bad because…..?

Yep, I’m angry now.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Stat of the Week Vote Cruelty Free

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

