The elusive Ms Booth Chapter 2

January 17, 2010 at 12:26 pm 1 comment

Steph Booth, who originally discovered another engagement on 30 Jan, now is unavailable for any kind of debate here in Hebden Bridge. This is very disappointing for us in the Green Party – we were looking forward to the debate and had already done some ‘prep’. Things have got very nasty on both the Hebden and Todmorden discussion lists, which is a huge turn-off for me and presumably for many other people. I’m reproducing my post on the Hebweb below, and after that I intend to leave this topic. There are so many important issues that need addressing and I’ve no intention of wasting time on petty squabbles.

I too am very disappointed about the cancellation of the debate. I suggested we go ahead without Steph, but since Labour is the party in government this wouldn’t have made much sense. I don’t know Jason very well, but my impression is that he was sincere in wanting a fair, civilised debate.

However…. don’t despair folks! I’m in the process of writing to the HBT to ask Steph to commit to another debate in the Upper Valley. It wouldn’t surprise me if the other candidates did something similar.

It should be said that a small number of people did behave badly towards Steph at the Big Green Debate, and I said at the time that I found this unacceptable. In the short term we Greens may benefit from Labour’s travails, but the long-term effect may be to turn more people away from the democratic process, and no-one will benefit from that! Except maybe the BNP….”                                                                                                                                                                          

posted 15/1/10

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Anonymous Donor Who Wasn’t Posthumous Green Award

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. h0wgreenismyvalley  |  February 25, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    Um….sorry. Can’t see anything nasty here. Just a simple statement of fact.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

