Creeping privatisation of the NHS

January 17, 2010 at 7:24 pm Leave a comment

Professionally speaking, I’m a Speech and Language Therapist working for an NHS PCT (Primary Care Trust). I have absolutely no managerial responsibility (by choice), but management still sends me their riveting e-mails. Last week I got one of these messages inviting me to briefing sessions, the text of which I reproduce here:  

                                       Each of the 6 sessions will be identical and cover:

  • Understanding the Commissioning requirements to manage the market
  • Understanding the financial position and cash releasing efficiency requirements
  • Understanding of Contractual arrangements
  • Understanding the future changes in developing different contractual arrangements
  • Current versus future FT finance regime 

 The Venue will be: Tally Ho Conference & Banqueting Centre

All I’ve changed is the italics. Leaving aside how appropriate it is to spend taxpayers’ money in the Tally Ho Banqueting Centre, two points arise:

  1. What on earth does it mean?
  2. Note how often ‘finance’ and ‘market’ appear in an e-mail to clinicians!

This is a subject close to my heart, and one to which I shall return often. For now, who can tell me when the money men/women took over?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Quote of the week My cultural week

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

