My Cultural Week

December 20, 2009 at 2:38 pm Leave a comment

 Watching…Anything I could find on Copenhagen, plus a BBC2 documentary on Dementia care. I know, I should get out more.

 Reading The Whereabouts of Eneas McNulty by Sebastian Barry. I’m less than halfway through this so will reserve judgement. So far…very poetic, only moderately  engaging, but I’d have said the same of his sublime novel The Secret Scripture at a similar stage, and I ended up loving that. A lot.

Listening to The Resistance by Muse. I get why people are Muse-sceptics – it’s overblown, it’s bombastic, it all sounds the same. And yet it doesn’t. The more I listen the more subtleties I hear, and while Matt Bellamy is no Dylan, he does nail the occasional lyric. He may even make his way into Quote of the Week sometime, but not this week. Too many to choose from, none of ‘em good.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Posthumous Green Award Posthumous Green Award

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

