My Cultural Week

December 6, 2009 at 6:47 pm Leave a comment

Reading Bad Science by Ben Goldacre. I’m a long-term fan of the BS column in the Guardian, so I was looking forward to this book. It didn’t disappoint, though the approach is more scattergun than I’d have liked. I’d have preferred Dr Goldacre to have kept his powder dry for the sections of the media that do such a poor job of reporting science/medical stories. My favourite chapter is ‘The Media’s MMR Hoax’. Hmm. Yes.

I hear that ‘Dr Ben’ was due to give a talk at York University, but that he’s withdrawn after a silly spat over expenses, of all things! Say it ain’t so, Ben……

 Watching The Turn of the Screw at Hebden Bridge Little Theatre. I’m a member of said theatre (though sadly not very active at present) and I enjoyed being creeped out by this classic ghost story. Nice to see an author of Henry James’s stature taking his place alongside Little Theatre regulars such as Agatha Christie and Ray Cooney!

 Listening to The Loon by Tapes’n’Tapes. My Mp3 found a track from this the other day, and sent me back to this lovely, quirky little album.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Railway Privatisation Calder Valley and Calder Ward

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


How cold is my valley?

Who I am

This blog started during the months before the 2010 General Election, in which I was the Green candidate for Calder Valley. It's morphed into an account of green activism...and other meanderings.

